Celebrating IT brilliance through recognition and reward

Celebrating IT brilliance through recognition and reward

The adjudication process for the Institute of IT Professionals South Africa’s 2016 President’s Awards has kicked off in earnest.

As part of the process, the public is now being given the opportunity to vote for their preferred candidates for the IT Personality of the Year and the Visionary CIO of the Year awards. According to Ulandi Exner, president of IITPSA, awards like these are important to recognise and acknowledge the great work that individuals and businesses are doing in the industry.

“These awards bring value to both the individuals and businesses in the ICT sector as they provide validation and confirmation of the individuals’ contribution to the success of the companies they represent,” she says. “Even just being nominated for an award adds to their credibility. So it’s very important to highlight and bring out the unsung heroes that we have in the IT industry.”

Now in its 38th year, the IT Personality of the Year is awarded to individuals who have made the biggest contribution to the IT sector in that year. Past winners of the award, made in collaboration with ITWeb, Gartner Africa, and GIBS, have included the late Benjamin Mophatlane, Professor Barry Dwolatzki, and Mteto Nyati.

The second award, the Visionary CIO Award recognises an executive who has shown exceptional leadership and, using technology, has helped grow the business. Previous recipients include Sandi Macfie and Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga.

“We are now entering the next phase of the adjudication process, which is quite intense,” says Exner.

“While members of the public are invited to vote for their preferred finalist, this carries a relatively low weighting in the overall adjudication process. Our judges will now enter the individual interview phase, where the IT Personality of the Year finalists will be put through their paces by the panel of judges, focusing on overall contribution to the IT profession, their role in building a highly-respected IT organisation or business and their role in aiding the development needs of communities.

“The Visionary CIO finalists will be judged on their overall responsibility for IT strategy and application of IT in the organisation, demonstrating visionary leadership using IT to support, grow and transform business and their role in establishing best practice in implementing technology solutions in their organisation. It is predominantly through these interviews that the winners are selected,” she says.

The panel of judges consists of the following individuals: Ulandi Exner, president of IITPSA; Professor Helena Barnard from the Gordon Institute of Business Science; Neville Willemse, head of consulting at Gartner Africa; Ranka Jovanovic, editorial director at ITWeb; Adrian Schofield, vice president of IITPSA; Tony Parry, executive director and CEO of IITPSA; Tshifhiwa Ramuthaga, CIO of the Financial Services Board; Peter du Plooy, CIO of Engen Petroleum; Hamilton Ratshefola, country general manager of IBM and Niel Schoeman, founder and CEO of Vumatel. 

The winners of the awards will be announced at The IITPSA’s Annual President’s Awards Breakfast which will be hosted at the Montecasino Ballroom on the 24th of November 2016.

“The event provides an opportunity for IT practitioners and professionals to network with their peers and discuss the various challenges they face in the industry. More importantly, it provides a platform to acknowledge and celebrate the leaders of the industry and people who have made a significant contribution to the industry. There is no better way to do that than through recognition, reward and showcasing the brilliant work that’s being done by the individuals in this country,” she concludes.

To register for this prestigious event on every IT Executive’s calendar, contact Lerina Nel on 011 315 1319 or email lerina@iitpsa.org.za.